eNASCAR International: Agustin Canapino scores COTA win

Justin Melillo
eNASCAR International: Agustin Canapino scores COTA win

The second race of the eNASCAR International Series concluded on Wednesday night with Argentine driver Agustin Canapino scoring the victory at Circuit of the Americas.

Representing the NASCAR PEAK Mexico Series as well as Williams Esports in his first series start, Canapino was fastest in practice, scored the pole position and led the most laps en route to virtual victory lane. Six of the Top 10 finishers at COTA represented the PEAK Mexico Series with two of them, Leonel Pernia and Victor Barrales Jr, rounding out the podium.

Last week’s winner at Brands Hatch, Simon Pilate had a tougher night navigating the Texas-based circuit. Pilate finished the best of the non-PEAK Mexico Series drivers, scoring a fifth place finish at the end of the night. Fellow EuroNASCAR driver Paul Joffreau finished seventh following up his runner-up finish last week.

Justin Campbell led the way for the NASCAR Drive for Diversity crowd with an eighth place finish while Treyton Lapcevich was the only representative of the NASCAR Pinty’s Series up in Canada, coming home ninth out of 19 drivers.

As Canapino ran away with a seemingly easy win, the battles throughout the field kept things interesting on the broadcast. As the drivers from multiple racing backgrounds all learned to not only race the virtual COTA, but also how to race each other, there were a ton of battles throughout the field that Evan Posocco and Justin Prince kept their eyes on throughout the night.

I kept my eye on Nick Sanchez before he eventually retired with about seven laps to go. Sanchez opted for the undercut on pit strategy and was running in fourth at one point. Sanchez didn’t start at Brands Hatch last week, but in this race, he was the widest car on the track. Elbows got wide, and eventually Sanchez pulled it behind the virtual wall to finish in 16th.

Only one race remains in the limited series, next Wednesday night at Daytona Int’l Speedway. The broadcast will be available on both eNASCAR’s website and iRacing’s social channels starting at 6:00 p.m. ET / 11:00 p.m. BST.


  1. 86 Agustin Canapino – PEAK Mexico Series 25 LAPS
  2. 75 Leonel Pernia – PEAK Mexico Series +17.719 sec
  3. 39 Victor Barrales Jr. – PEAK Mexico Series +47.052 sec
  4. 8 Paul Jourdain – PEAK Mexico Series +1:01.047 sec
  5. 66 Simon Pilate – WHELEN Euro Series +1:01.873 sec
  6. 51 Jake Cosio – PEAK Mexico Series +1:05.998 sec
  7. 64 Paul Jouffreau – WHELEN Euro Series +1:10.357 sec
  8. 18 Justin Campbell – Drive for Diversity +1:11.147 sec
  9. 20 Treyton Lapcevich – Pinty’s Series +1:15.182 sec
  10. 88 Ruben Garcia – PEAK Mexico Series +1:15.681 sec
Leave a Reply
Previous Post
WATCH: Top 5 Fictional Race Tracks

WATCH: Top 5 Fictional Race Tracks

Next Post
Wreckfest adds PlayStation save transfer, cross-gen multiplayer and new PC visuals

Wreckfest adds PlayStation save transfer, cross-gen multiplayer and new PC visuals

Related Posts