fbpx
Esports

WATCH: Formula Pro Series Round 6 Finale, Laguna Seca

The epic conclusion to the 2022 Formula Pro Series comes down to a final battle on Monday (1st August 2022) at one of the newest venues on rFactor 2, Laguna Seca.

There’s a share of the $50,000 prize pool up for grabs in the championship fight, the top spot only separated by a single point entering the finale. Jeffrey Rietveld (Team Redline) holds on to 139 points while Jernej Simončič (Burst Esport) now has 138.

Those two aren’t the only ones left fighting for the title. Last season’s dominant force, Bono Huis (Mercedes-AMG Petronas Esports Team) sits in third with 134 points, only five points behind.

Rietveld’s Team Redline teammate Kevin Siggy sits fourth at 132 points, and rounding out the Top 5 is Dennis Jordan (Oracle Red Bull Racing Esports), only 10 points behind the lead with a final race to decide it all.

Laguna Seca joined the rFactor 2 service in the May Q2 content drop. It was featured in the third Race Of The Season (which utilized the IndyCar IR-18) and also concluded the Formula Challenge Series last week.

The FIA Grade 2 venue features 11 corners and measures 1.238-miles, or 3.602-kilometres in length. It famously features the Andretti Hairpin at Turn 2, but the more famous corner at this track has to be at Turns 8 and 8a, otherwise known as the Corkscrew, one of the most challenging in all of motorsports.

While Formula 1 has never raced on the Central Californian circuit, the fantasy Formula Pro single-seater machines made for rFactor 2 will get their time in the sun on Monday.

RELEGATION RACE FOLLOWS

Following the sixth and final race of the 2022 season at Laguna Seca, the Relegation Race will take place on the same broadcast. The bottom two teams from this season’s Formula Pro will face off against the top three drivers (and their selected teammates) from this season’s Formula Challenge.

From the Twitter poll, Imola 2018 and Silverstone GP should be the venues in play for the Relegation race. Christian Michel, Risto Kappet and Philipp Drayss are the three who finished Top 3 in the final Challenge rankings. Drayss and Michel have teamed up, however, which means fourth-placed Turkka Hakkinen also gets a shot.

Here are the Formula Challenge Series drivers who are entered in the race, to be joined by the bottom two teams from Formula Pro Series.

  • #35 – Philipp Drayss – needracing.com
  • #26 – Christian Michel – needracing.com
  • #888 – Risto Kappet – Predator R8G Esports
  • #18 – Timotej Andonovski – Predator R8G Esports
  • #16 – Turkka Hakkinen – PMK-SimRacing
  • #15 – Rory MacDuff – PMK-SimRacing
Michel wins 2022 Formula Challenge; Kappet, Drayss also advance to Relegation round

WHAT TIME DOES EVERYTHING START?

Round 6 of the 2022 Formula Pro Series Schedule:

  • Broadcast starts: 20:00 CEST / 19:00 BST / 14:00 EST
  • Qualifying starts: 20:10 CEST / 19:10 BST / 14:10 EST
  • Round 6 race starts: 20:30 CEST / 19:30 BST / 14:30 EST
  • Relegation race starts: 21:35 CEST / 20:35 BST / 15:35 EST

The presenters for each round will be esteemed sports broadcaster Rachael Downie, GB3 and GB4 commentator Lewis McGlade and John Munro.

How to watch the Formula Pro Series esports championship

Live race coverage is on the Traxion.GG Facebook PageTwitch and YouTube Channels. It will also be live on Autosport and Motorsport.com’s Facebook pages.

FORMULA PRO SERIES 2022 CALENDAR

  • Round 1 – Spa-Francorchamps – 9th May 2022
  • Round 2 – Monza – 23rd May 2022
  • Round 3 – Daytona Road Course – 6th June 2022
  • Round 4 – Donington Park – 4th July 2022
  • Round 5 – Circuit d’Azur – 18th July 2022
  • Round 6 – Laguna Seca – 1st August 2022

THE ENTRY LIST

There are 12 teams, 24 drivers, entered for each race in the 2022 Formula Pro Series.

1Bono HuisMercedes-AMG Petronas Esports Team
6Adam MaguireWolves GR Esports
8Erhan JajovskiR8G Esports
10Michi HoyerBurst Esport
11Nuno PintoTeam Fordzilla
12Ibraheem KhanBS+ Competition
13Alex SiebelOracle Red Bull Racing Esports
17Jernej SimončičBurst Esport
19Jeffrey RietveldTeam Redline
20Kevin SiggyTeam Redline
21Collin SporkNetRex Grand Prix
22Ferris StanleyRocket Simsport
23Daniel KissRocket Simsport
27Dennis JordanOracle Red Bull Racing Esports
34Marko PejicMercedes-AMG Petronas Esports Team
44Jan WoznicaNetRex Grand Prix
46Gianmarco FiduciTeam Fordzilla
60Dawid MroczekBykolles Burst Esport
66Daniel BrewerWolves GR Esports
88Marcell CsincsikR8G Esports
93Damian SkowronBykolles Burst Esport
96Muhammed PatelBS+ Competition
97Petar BrljakWilliams Esports
98Michael RomanidisWilliams Esports

2022 FORMULA PRO SERIES CHAMPIONSHIP STANDINGS AFTER ROUND 5

POS#DRIVERTEAMPOINTS
119Jeffrey RietveldTeam Redline139
217Jernej SimončičBurst Esport138
31Bono HuisMercedes-AMG Petronas Esports Team134
420Kevin SiggyTeam Redline132
527Dennis JordanOracle Red Bull Racing Esports129
613Alex SiebelOracle Red Bull Racing Esports122
788Marcell CsincsikR8G Esports104
896Muhammed PatelBS+ Competition90
910Michi HoyerBurst Esport76
1097Petar BrljakWilliams Esports74

TEAM STANDINGS AFTER ROUND 5

POSTEAMTOTAL
1Team Redline271
2Oracle Red Bull Racing Esports251
3Burst Esport214
4R8G Esports163
5Mercedes-AMG Petronas Esports Team153
6BS+ Competition152
7Bykolles Burst Esport109
8NetRex Grand Prix103
9Wolves GR Esports99
10Williams Esports96
11Rocket Simsport93
12Team Fordzilla71

SUCCESS BALLAST ALLOCATION

The following allocated success ballast for Round 6 is based on the current championship standings: Rietveld 10kg, Simončič 7kg, Huis 4kg.

Comments
To Top