fbpx
Esports

Driver line-up for first Le Mans Virtual Series race revealed

Driver line-up for first Le Mans Virtual Series race revealed

The first race in the Le Mans Virtual Series is this weekend, a four-hour event around Monza, and the driver line-up for the 38-car grid is not set.

114 drivers across the LMP2 and GTE classes will take to the start line on Saturday 25th September, marking the inaugural Series start for the Le Mans Virtual. The grid includes a unique mixture of motorsport and esports star drivers.

Driver line-up,  Le Mans Virtual Series, Monza

Of the real-world competitors, 24 Hours of Le Mans Virtual winner and (alongside teammate Yifei Ye) newly crowned ELMS LMP2 Champion Louis Deletraz, Formula E racer Sérgio Sette Câmara, W Series star Beitske Visser, former Formula 1 competitor and current McLaren F1 development driver Will Stevens, 2019 World Rallycross champion Timmy Hansen and WTCR race winner Néstor “Bebu” Girolami will take part among others.

From the world of esports, reigning GT Pro Series champion Jan von der Heyde, former Formula SimRacing Pro champion and current Formula Pro Series competitor Michi Hoyer, ADAC GT Masters Esports race winner Jack Keithley, reigning Porsche TAG Heuer Esport Supercup victor Joshua Rogers, multiple esports champion Kevin Siggy and Nuno Pinto all take part.

Porsche Esports Team’s Ayhancan Güven is competing at the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland Monza round this same weekend and will therefore be participating in the LMVS event on-site, joined by his sim racing teammates.

The full driver line-up and participating teams for the esports championship were previously revealed, with teams signing five drivers for the season, a minimum of two required to be FIA graded. For each round, however, teams submit three drivers from their roster, a minimum of one required to be FIA graded.

Free practice sessions will be run on Thursday and Friday, with a one-hour test race taking place on Thursday evening. Qualifying is on Friday 24th September at 6 pm BST (7 pm CEST, 1:00 pm ET) with the session being broadcast live. This will also include action from the first race of the Le Mans Virtual Cup, a competition open to all via the rFactor 2 competition system.

Then, the main race itself will take place on Saturday 25th September, with the four-hour race starting at 12.30 pm BST (1.30 pm CEST, 7.30 am ET). All the action will be live on the Traxion.GG YouTube and Twitch channels.

Comments
To Top