fbpx
Hardware

Thrustmaster’s direct drive wheel base set for November reveal

Thrustmaster's direct drive wheel base set for November reveal

It’s happening before the end of the year – Thrustmaster’s debut direct driver wheel base, slated for PC-only at present, will be finally unveiled in November.

After a round of teasers, a direct drive wheel base from Thrustmaster looks to be closer than ever, with a reveal stream set for 17th November 2022.

The American-French peripheral manufacturer has long pioneered belt-driven technology for its sim racing products, but later this year will offer a wheel base eschewing that set-up.

Thrustmaster Direct Driver wheel PC Base reveal date

Direct drive means the steering shaft is fitted onto the motor without any potential interference from additional elements. Manufacturers such as Fanatec, Moza and Simucube all current offer direct drive systems.

The Thrustmaster direct drive unit was first mused back in August 2021 following a roadmap publication. In January of this year, it announced that it would have a new quick-release system for swapping steering wheels, utilising a paddle. In March it showcased what looks to be a motorsport flag system using lights built into the wheel base unit.

Originally planned to be a series of teasers, the #STARTINGLIGHTS campaign was then revised.

“We hear you loud and clear: the next Starting Light you see will reveal everything,” stated a social media post earlier this year.

Now it seems that the time is nearing for the PC-only device, as there will be a full reveal show on Thrustmaster’s Twitch channel, 17th November 2022 at 3 pm BST / 4 pm CEST / 7 am PT / 10 am ET.

What are your expectations for this new device? Let us know in the comments below.

Comments
To Top