iRacing WoO Late Models: Evan Seay dominates in Volusia opener

Justin Melillo
Evan Seay, the 2022 World of Outlaws Late Model Series Champion, picked up where he left off by winning at Volusia on Monday.

For the first time since iRacing‘s Dirt Refresh for 2023 Season 3, World Championship level racing is back with the 2023 edition of the World of Outlaws Buttkicker Late Model Series.

35 of the top Dirt Oval Late Model drivers have qualified or returned for the next 10 weeks that will be packed with racing on some of the most famous short tracks in the world, including Eldora, I-55 and Port Royal. The season kicked things off on Monday night (10th July) with the first event of the season at Volusia Speedway Park.

The virtual half-mile located in Florida is only a 25 minute drive from the famed Daytona International Speedway, and often hosts many World of Outlaws events during the early part of the real-world schedule.

Evan Seay took the top honors in the 2022 Late Model Driver’s World Championship. After nearly a year off and a refreshed dirt project on the platform, Seay continued his winning ways by claiming the opening Volusia event and scoring max points to lead the standings after Race 1.

Heat Races

Following qualifying, the 35 drivers were placed into their respective Heats, with the pole winner leading the first heat, second place leading Heat 2, third place leading Heat 3 and fourth place leading Heat 4. Fifth place in Qualifying would start second and so on and so forth until fields of nine (and one of eight) were set.

The Top 4 finishers would advance to the Feature race in each heat, filling out 16 of the 20 starters. The remaining four Feature starters would eventually come from the LCQs later in the show.

In the first Heat, Seay was able to lead from the get go. This also rang true for the third and fourth heats, won by Kendal Tucker and James Edens. The second Heat was the highlight of the night, where Barrett Bishop managed to steal the win and take the runner-up starting position from Tanner Tomasi on the final lap.

Feature advancements via Volusia Heats

1Evan SeayBarrett BishopKendal TuckerJames Edens
2Blake MatjoulisTanner TomasiPayton StevensonDylonn Fox
3Chase BarbaraTalan WillisKaden HoneycuttTristan Ladouceur
4Dylan WilsonLogan RumseyColton ZimmerJD Brown


Both Last Chance Qualifying Races were fairly straightforward as the Top 2 qualifiers in each were the four that wound up advancing to the Feature event to fill out the 20-car grid.

In the C-Main race, Dylan Yeager, who just missed out on making it through in the first Heat, managed to take the win and brought Travis StClair along into the Feature with a runner-up finish. The B-Main saw Robbie Buchanan Jr and Damian Kiefer score the transfers as the rest were all eliminated.

No points are awarded for finishes in the LCQs.

1Dylan YeagerRobbie Buchanan Jr
2Travis StClairDamian Kiefer


When the green flag dropped for the Feature race, 50 laps would settle the score among the 20-qualified entries. Seay got a good jump, but in the first corner of the first lap, it came to a screeching halt behind as the pack piled up around the mid section of the field.

With caution laps not counting, the first lap was lost to the void, the race resuming at the start of Lap 2 with no laps led by anyone. Once again, Seay was gone. This time, he stayed gone as the race would go caution-free from that point forward.

The battle for second was where it was at. Barrett Bishop had it but Kendal Tucker, Tanner Tomasi and Blake Matjoulis all wanted it. The quartet all battled under a blanket for nearly the entire event with Bishop eventually winning out on that battle.

WoO Race #1 – Volusia Feature Top 10 Results

1133Evan Seay50 LAPS4978
223Barrett Bishop+1.846 secs075
330Kendal Tucker+1.895 secs072
469Tanner Tomasi+2.084 secs068
55127Blake Matjoulis+2.278 secs065
6452James Edens+6.219 secs063
71380Dylan Wilson+6.402 secs057
81010Talan Willis+6.422 secs055
9791Payton Stevenson+6.786 secs053
101116Kaden Honeycutt+9.252 secs049

Points Standings following Race #1 – Volusia

133Evan Seay78LEADER1
23Barrett Bishop75-30
30Kendal Tucker72-60
49Tanner Tomasi68-100
5127Blake Matjoulis65-130
652James Edens63-150
780Dylan Wilson57-210
810Talan Willis55-230
991Payton Stevenson53-250
1016Kaden Honeycutt49-290

Next up: Fairbury Speedway

The second race of the 2023 season will take the Late Model World of Outlaws tour to Fairbury Speedway.

Things will kick off at 9:00 pm ET with the call from Tim Terry and Terry Radford, broadcasted live on DIRTvision or on the iRacing social channels.

2023 Schedule

110th JulyVolusia Speedway Park
217th JulyFairbury Speedway
324th JulyCedar Lake Speedway
431st JulyPort Royal Speedway
57th AugustKnoxville Raceway
614th AugustFederated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55
721st AugustWilliams Grove Speedway
828th AugustEldora Speedway
911th SeptemberLincoln Speedway
1018th SeptemberThe Dirt Track at Charlotte Motor Speedway
Add a Comment
Previous Post
WATCH: Dave Cam's Done & Dusted Series - Week 5, Formula Vee at Okayama

WATCH: Dave Cam’s Done & Dusted Series – Week 5, Formula Vee at Okayama

Next Post
Next Level Racing's GTLite Pro is an upgraded foldable sim racing cockpit

Next Level Racing’s GTLite Pro is an upgraded foldable sim racing cockpit

Related Posts