fbpx
Esports

Teams try to find an ‘ad-Vantage’ in the GT Pro Series car draft

Teams try to find an ‘ad-vantage’ in the GT Pro Series car draft

The car draft pick for the approaching GT Pro Series, Season 4, happened yesterday evening, and the results were intriguing.  

In a change to proceedings for the upcoming esports championship – broadcast live on Traxion.GG – the series will be using GTE cars in lieu of GT3-spec machinery. In addition, the way the ballast is attributed in relation to car choice has also changed. 

As the draft unfolded, each entrant must pick a car from the six GTE vehicles on offer. Selecting a vehicle that other competitors had already chosen risked the addition of a weight penalty. This only kicked in, though, from the sixth selection on. 

Chevrolet Corvette C8R in rFactor 2

When it came to it, the first pick went to Zansho Simsport’s Sido Weijer who selected the Aston Martin Vantage GTE. This rather set the tone for the event, as eight further participants also selected the Aston, making it by far the most popular vehicle. 

This also meant that ballast came into play, with Ibraheem Khan being the first to pick up an extra 10kg of weight. Ferris Stanley, another Aston Martin driver, received 20kg alongside Arne Schoonvliet and reigning champion Jan von der Heyde. 

Interestingly, he could have selected a different car – such as the Corvette C8R or Ferrari – and not received any penalty, but the last pick stuck with the continuity of the Rocket Simsport squad, all selecting the Vantage, as did every member of Zansho Simsport. 

BMW M8 GTE at Sebring

Other team selections included the three Red Bull Racing Esports drivers – all in the latter quarter of the picking process – plumping for the ballast-free Corvette C8R. BMW Team Redline member Kevin Siggy went for the surprise choice of a Corvette a BMW. 

With the grid now set – the full entry list is below – we can now look forward to the season start. It all kicks off at a virtual Autodromo Nazionale di Monza, 9th August, 7.45 pm CEST / 6.45 pm BST / 10.45 am PT / 1.45 pm ET and live on the Traxion.GG YouTube channel and Facebook page. 

GT Pro Series, Season 4, Entry List

PickDriverTeamCar (GTE)Ballast
1Sido Weijer Zansho Simsport Aston Martin
2Presley Martono JMX Phantom BMW
3Luis Felipe Capamadjian HM Engineering BMW
4Jiri Toman Varga SimRacing Aston Martin
5Dawid Mroczek Burst Esport Corvette C7R
6Marcell Csincsik Varga SimRacing Aston Martin
7Matt Richards Rocket Simsport Aston Martin
8Petar Brljak Williams Esports Aston Martin
9Ibraheem Khan Rocket Simsport Aston Martin10kg
10Risto Kappet R8G Esports Corvette C7R
11Kevin Rotting BHK Esports by TX3Corvette C7R
12Kevin Siggy BMW Team Redline BMW
13Nikodem Wisniewski Williams Esports Porsche
14Peyo Peev Buttler-Pal Motorsport Porsche
15Zbigniew Siara Buttler-Pal Motorsport Porsche
16Ferris Stanley Zansho Simsport Aston Martin20kg
17Luca D’AmelioBHK Esports by TX3BMW
18Jordy Zwiers Jean Alesi Esports Porsche
19Nuno Pinto Team Fordzilla Porsche
20Kasper Stoltze Jean Alesi Esports Corvette C7R
21Joonas Raivio BS+CompetitionBMW
22Jakub Brzezinski Williams Esports Corvette C7R
23Jernej Simoncic Burst Esport Ferrari
24Timotej Andonovski Cetrez Nitor Velox Ferrari
25Arne Schoonvliet Zansho Simsport Aston Martin20kg
26Yuri Kasdorp Red Bull Racing Esports Corvette C8R
27Michi Hoyer Burst Esport Ferrari
28Alex Siebel Red Bull Racing Esports Corvette C8R
29Dennis Jordan Red Bull Racing Esports Corvette C8R
30Jan von der Heyde Rocket Simsport Aston Martin20kg

GT Pro Series, Season 4, Race Calendar 

Live broadcast on YouTube and Facebook for each round starts at 7.00 pm CEST / 6.00 pm BST / 10.00 am PT / 1.00 pm ET

  • 9th August: Autodromo Nazionale di Monza 
  • 23rd August: Sebring 
  • 6th September: Lime Rock Park 
  • 20th September: Loch Drummond 
  • 4th October: Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps 
  • 18th October: Indianapolis Road Course
Comments
To Top