rFactor 2’s second Competition System season includes a Nordschleife finale

rFactor 2's second Competition System season includes a Nordschliefe finale

Back again for Season 2 on rFactor 2’s new seasonal competition system, the Race of the Season features LMP3 at the Nürburgring Nordschleife.

Following the inaugural Race of the Season last weekend with the BMW M4 GT3 at Daytona Int’l Speedway, Season 2 will feature another combination for drivers to try to qualify for in rFactor 2’s latest Competition System update.

This time, the Race of the Season takes the Ligier JS P320 LMP 3 to the Nürburgring Nordschleife. Hot lap qualifying for the top split, which will have a broadcast live on our YouTube channel, opens on Monday 28th March and closes on Sunday 1st May.

rFactor 2 Race of the Season Ligier

The final will take place on Monday 9th May at 9 pm CET / 8 pm GMT. The top 30 qualifiers will be given the opportunity to race in the top split broadcasted event.

The Nordschleife circuit of the Nürburgring features 154 staggering turns in the span of 20.83-kilometres or 12.94-miles. As for the Ligier JS P320 LMP3, it’s a newer entry-level Le Mans Prototype, released in the real world in 2019 and for rFactor 2 in February.

The Nordschleife was used for a round of the Le Mans Virtual Series Cup last year, also using LMP3 machinery and rFactor 2 – won by Jimi Nisula on that occasion.

rFactor 2 Competition System Season 2

With the Race of the Season the headline event, there are several other Competition System online races to take part in too.

The Rookie Cup has daily races using the Alpine A110 Cup car across a series of differing tracks. Stepping up a level, the Open Wheel Sprint uses the USF 2000 open-wheeler at venues such as Highlands Motorsport Park, Zandvoort and Adria.

The INDYCAR Open Challenge returns too, using the INDYCAR IR-18 that was made available for the platform in February. This time, the venues include Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps and Sebring.

Rookie Cup

Car: Alpine A110 Cup
Times: Daily, at the beginning of every hour
Format: 10-minute practice, 10-minute qualifying, 20-minute race

Open Wheel Sprint

Car: USF 2000
Times: Daily, 30 minutes past every hour
Format: 10-minute practice, 10-minute qualifying, 25-minute race

INDYCAR Open Challenge

Times: Daily at 9 pm CET / 8 pm GMT / 3 pm EST and 1 am CET / 12 am GMT / 7 pm EST
Format: 10-minute practice, 10-minute qualifying, 40-minute race

Full disclosure – Traxion.GG is part of Motorsport Games and the Motorsport Games family of brands. All Traxion.GG content is editorially removed from Motorsport Games video game development and created by a dedicated team.

To Top