iRacing WoO Late Models: Blake Matjoulis wins at Fairbury over Evan Seay

Justin Melillo
Another champion of the series scored their first win of the 2023 iRacing World of Outlaws Late Model Season. 2019 champ Blake Matjoulis was victorious at Fairbury on Monday.

The second race of the 2023 iRacing World of Outlaws Buttkicker Late Model Series saw a second winner emerge following the festivities at Fairbury Speedway on Monday night (17th July).

2019’s Series Champion Blake Matjoulis was the dominant force this time around, scoring maximum points over fellow champion and main championship rival through two races Evan Seay in the 50 lap Fairbury Feature.

In the final stint, Matjoulis was under fire from Seay, who just made his way around Logan Rumsey for the runner-up spot. Seay took a few looks, but Matjoulis held strong and scored his first win of the 2023 season.

Heat Races

By putting down the fastest lap in qualifying, Matjoulis was in prime position to take the pole for the Feature. Heat 1 would consist of every fourth fastest driver, so first, fifth, ninth and so on. The Top 4 finishers would advance to the Feature main event.

Matjoulis was easily able to take the first Heat win over Mike Augustine with Jeremy Steele and Dylan Wilson also following through to the Feature. Logan Rumsey went up and took the win in Heat 2, advancing along with Chase Barbara, Landon Francis and Drew Hopkins.

The third Heat belonged to the defending champion and winner last week, Evan Seay. Seay advanced on with Dezmond Busby, Talan Willis and Dylonn Fox. In the final Heat, Kendal Tucker managed to take the Heat win over James Edens, Barrett Bishop and Blake Murray.

Feature advancements via Fairbury Heats

1Blake MatjoulisLogan RumseyEvan SeayKendal Tucker
2Mike AugustineChase BarbaraDezmond BusbyJames Edens
3Jeremy SteeleLandon FrancisTalan WillisBarrett Bishop
4Dylan WilsonDrew HopkinsDylonn FoxBlake Murray


While up-to-eight points were awarded in the Heats, no points would be awarded for finishes in the LCQs. Still, an opportunity to score more points exists through transferring to the Feature, so that’s what the remaining drivers fought for in the final two transfer races of the night.

In the first Last Chance Qualifier, JD Brown won undoubtedly, but Tristan Ladouceur had to fight head-to-head against Kaden Honeycutt for the second spot. Ladouceur won out, forcing Honeycutt and seven others out of the show.

LCQ 2 saw two names that also had to advance through the LCQs in the first week, that being Damian Kiefer and Dylan Yeager, also advance once again with a 1-2 finish in the final transfer race.

1JD BrownDamian Kiefer
2Tristan LadouceurDylan Yeager


Matjoulis led Rumsey, Seay and Tucker early on, but the first half of the race would be marred by multiple cautions. Last week only had a single caution through the entire event, but this one would see three slow downs for incident.

After the third and final caution to restart, Seay was able to jump from third to second, the chase now on between he and Matjoulis. Last season, Seay was dominant, but just barely lost out at the end. This year, he hoped to flip the script by doing the same to Matjoulis.

The two raced clean, side-by-side for multiple laps before the white flag was flown. Seay made one last attempt, but Matjoulis won out for his first win of the 2023 season.

WoO Race #2 – Fairbury Feature Top 10 Results

11127Blake Matjoulis50 LAPS4778
2333Evan Seay+0.188 secs075
3925Jeremy Steele+2.903 secs070
4241Logan Rumsey+2.996 secs069
5400Kendal Tucker+3.066 secs066
61122Talan Willis+3.156 secs061
7782Dezmond Busby+4.421 secs059
8123Barrett Bishop+4.991 secs055
9519Mike Augustine+5.678 secs053
10623Chase Barbara+5.820 secs050

Points Standings following Race #2 – Fairbury

133Evan Seay153LEADER1
2127Blake Matjoulis143-101
300Kendal Tucker138-150
43Barrett Bishop130-230
510Talan Willis116-370
641Logan Rumsey115-380
752James Edens101-520
880Dylan Wilson87-660
923Chase Barbara81-720
1014JD Brown78-750
10999Dylonn Fox78-750

Next up: Cedar Lake Speedway

With the victory, Matjoulis jumps from fifth to second in the points after two weeks. Seay continues to lead, but now only by 10 points.

The third race of the 2023 season will take the Late Model World of Outlaws tour to Cedar Lake Speedway.

Things will kick off at 9:00 pm ET with the call from Tim Terry and Terry Radford, broadcasted live on DIRTvision or on the iRacing social channels.

2023 Schedule

110th JulyVolusia Speedway Park
217th JulyFairbury Speedway
324th JulyCedar Lake Speedway
431st JulyPort Royal Speedway
57th AugustKnoxville Raceway
614th AugustFederated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55
721st AugustWilliams Grove Speedway
828th AugustEldora Speedway
911th SeptemberLincoln Speedway
1018th SeptemberThe Dirt Track at Charlotte Motor Speedway
Leave a Reply
Previous Post
Gran Turismo World Series Manufacturers Cup 2022 copy

Manufacturers Cup teams locked-in for Gran Turismo World Series Showdown 2023

Next Post
Xbox Live Gold to be replaced by Game Pass Core

Xbox Live Gold to be replaced by Game Pass Core

Related Posts