fbpx
Esports

How qualifying works at the 2023 24 Hours of Le Mans Virtual

Qualifying schedule for the 24 Hours of Le Mans Virtual announced

The qualifying schedule for Friday for the 24 Hours of Le Mans Virtual includes multi-class qualifying plus a Hyperpole session for the pole.

This weekend, the epic conclusion to the 2022-23 Le Mans Virtual Series season will start things off with an all-new qualifying format to the top-level esports racing series. The finale event, the 24 Hours of Le Mans Virtual at rFactor 2‘s Circuit de la Sarthe, will commence this weekend, 14th-15th January.

On the Friday before (13th January), the 45 teams (split 28 LMPs and 17 GTEs) will all take to the track at the same time for the first time as the Le Mans-style Hyperpole qualifying has entered the virtual space.

JOINT QUALIFYING AND HYPERPOLE FINAL ROUND

Both the LMP and GTE classes will take to the track at the same time in the first session. It’s a 30-minute joint qualifying block where the teams will try to put down one of the six fastest times in their class. After the 30-minute block has concluded, positions 7 through 28 in LMP and 7 through 17 in GTE will be set.

The top six in each class advance to Hyperpole qualifying, where again, both classes will be on track at the same time. Hyperpole only lasts 15 minutes as opposed to the first session’s 30 minutes. After Hyperpole qualifying has concluded, both classes will know who will lead their fields to the green flag on Saturday.

In the past, there would be two separate 20-minute single-round qualifying sessions where the classes were separated. Now with both classes on track, spotters will need to be on it to make sure they don’t intertwine on respective fast laps.

Last season, the #70 LMP which was the Realteam Hydrogen Redline entry, claimed pole position overall with a lap time of 3:21.219. In GTE, the #111 Red Bull Racing Esports Corvette had won the pole with a 3:46.438 second lap.

With a 25-second gap between the classes last year, that could play into the qualifying strategy with everyone on track at once in 2023.

24 HOURS OF LE MANS VIRTUAL PROVISIONAL QUALIFYING SCHEDULE

  • 18:00 pm GMT / 7:00 pm CET / 10:00 am PT / 1:00 pm ET – Broadcast starts
  • 18:10 pm GMT – Joint Qualifying session begins
  • 18:40 pm GMT – Joint Qualifying session ends
  • 19:30 pm GMT – Hyperpole Qualifying session begins
  • 19:45 pm GMT – Hyperpole Qualifying session ends

WHERE TO WATCH

Qualifying is on Friday 13th January at 6:00 pm GMT / 7:00 pm CET / 10:00 am PT / 1:00 pm ET.

The race itself starts on Saturday 14th January at 1:00 pm GMT / 2:00 pm CET / 5:00 am PT / 8:00 am ET and will end 24 hours later on Sunday 15th January.

Traxion.GG is one of the official media partners of the Le Mans Virtual Series. Watch the 24 Hours of Le Mans Virtual, 14th-15th January 2023 on our YouTube channel.

Full disclosure – Traxion.GG is part of Motorsport Games and the Motorsport Games family of brands. All Traxion.GG content is editorially removed from Motorsport Games video game development and created by a dedicated team. 

Comments
To Top