eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series Race Preview: Race 6 – Talladega

Justin Melillo
The sixth points paying race of the 2023 eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series season will take place at Talladega Superspeedway on 18th April.
eNASCAR Coca-Cola: Bobby Zalenski locks in to Championship 4 with Talladega snipe

For the first time in eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series history, the entire 40-car field will be racing on the same setup. A fixed setup Coke race is in the cards for Tuesday night (18th April) as the series takes on The Biggie Bag $5.00 presented by Wendy’s at Talladega Superspeedway.

It’s been a much different looking start to the season, as Talladega will mark the third Superspeedway-style race on the 2023 schedule. Daytona opened the season, New Atlanta was on the cards for the third race, and now in just the sixth race, Talladega has appeared.

With the caveat of the fixed setup, will that promote tighter, more competitive action around the 2.66-mile oval in Lincoln, Alabama? It’s yet another big unknown on the season, somewhat of a theme so far.


monza leahy zalenski

Bobby Zalenski (Joe Gibbs Racing) doubled up last Tuesday night (11th April) after claiming his first road course victory in the eNASCAR ranks since 2020. It was his second win on the season and in-a-row after first winning three weeks ago at Richmond and then leading every lap in the inaugural trip to Monza, Italy.

From the pole position, Zalenski was able to pull away from the field and never look back. Tucker Minter (Team Dillon Esports) managed to work him way up to second around Keegan Leahy (23XI Racing) who finished third. Casey Kirwan (XSET) had an early spin but recovered to finish fourth, just ahead of Jordy Lopez (Team Dillon Esports) in fifth.

Zalenski is now the only two-time winner on the season. Through five races, Zalenski sits together with Michael Conti (JR Motorsports), Minter and Steven Wilson (Stewart-Haas Esports) as playoff-eligible drivers thus far. The Team Dillon Esports pair of Minter and Lopez now leads the Team Points as well.


1118Bobby ZalenskiJoe Gibbs Racing30 LAPS3040
2333Tucker MinterTeam Dillon Esports+3.618 secs035
3223Keegan Leahy23XI Racing+4.447 secs034
4495Casey KirwanXSET+10.829 secs033
553Jordy Lopez JrTeam Dillon Esports+11.346 secs032
6748Graham A. BowlinCharlotte Phoenix+12.739 secs031
71111Parker WhiteKanaan Esports+13.115 secs030
81512Garrett ManesFGR Accel eRacing+13.243 secs029
9910Steven WilsonStewart-Haas Esports+13.754 secs028
101340Dylan AultLetarte Esports+17.260 secs027


eNASCAR Coca-Cola: Bobby Zalenski locks in to Championship 4 with Talladega snipe

Despite being a part of the inaugural eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series season in 2010 and the following season in 2011, 2023 will mark only the eighth visit to Talladega Superspeedway in series history.

It was utilized only three times in the first four seasons, with Brad Davies, Jeremy R Allen and Joshua Laughton scoring those wins in 2010, 2011 and 2013, respectively. It took until 2019 for the series to return to the track, and that return visit was won by none other than Nick Ottinger (William Byron Esports).

In 2020, Brandon Hayse Kettelle scored his first and only win in the series. 2021’s contest allowed for Ottinger to become the first and only driver to date to score multiple wins at the venue. Last season, it was looking like either Casey Kirwan or Collin Bowden (eRacr) were on their way to a Talladega triumph, but as the two tangled in the Tri-oval, Bobby Zalenski squeaked through for the upset.


eNASCAR, iRacing, The Milwaukee Mile, Nick Ottinger bumps Malik Ray

This is one of the last big unknowns for the 2023 season for a while, as in two weeks, the regular season gets regular with some more common intermediate races. Still, while Talladega might be the great equalizer already, it could be even more so with everyone on the same setup for the first time.

Nick Ottinger is an easy one to pick. OttiBoss already has two Talladega trophies, more than anyone else, and is going to be entering Tuesday night still searching for his first win of 2023. Someone else looking for their first win of the season, and, well, first win ever in the series is Malik Ray (Jim Beaver Esports). A constant threat at Superspeedway races, Malik already has a runner-up at Daytona this season. He’s also got confidence.

Bobby Zalenski will be looking for a three-peat on the season, which would also be back-to-back wins at Dega if successful. The two drivers he beat, Kirwan and Bowden, will be looking for redemption from last season.

In reality, anyone can win it. If I had to pick a dark horse, I would bet on someone scoring their first win, possibly someone like Michael Guest (23XI Racing) or Garrett Manes (FGR Accel eRacing).


118Bobby ZalenskiJoe Gibbs Racing144WIN223
28Michael ContiJR Motorsports145WIN122
333Tucker Minter [R]Team Dillon Esports140WIN122
410Steven WilsonStewart-Haas Esports95WIN112
548Graham A. BowlinCharlotte Phoenix145+38024
625Nick OttingerWilliam Byron Esports140+33023
738Michael Cosey Jr [R]Front Row Motorsports134+27023
823Keegan Leahy23XI Racing127+20022
93Jordy Lopez Jr [R]Team Dillon Esports119+12011
1095Casey KirwanXSET118+11023
1111Parker White [R]Kanaan Esports107-11002
1241Dylan DuvalStewart-Haas Esports104-14002


eNASCAR Coca-Cola: Bobby Zalenski locks in to Championship 4 with Talladega snipe

The Countdown to Green, now sponsored by Wendy’s, starts at 8:30 p.m. EDT / 1:30 a.m. BST to bring you up to speed on everything you need to know going into the event. The racing will go green shortly after 9:00 p.m. EDT / 2:00 a.m. BST for the 70-lap event at Talladega.

The broadcast will be available at eNASCAR.com/live or on the iRacing social channels.


CLASH31-JaneNASCAR Clash at the LA Coliseum | Winner: CASEY KIRWAN20/40/70
114-FebDaytona International Speedway | Winner: TUCKER MINTER80
228-FebThe Milwaukee Mile | Winner: MICHAEL CONTI100
314-MarAtlanta Motor Speedway | Winner: STEVEN WILSON100
428-MarRichmond Raceway | Winner: BOBBY ZALENSKI130
511-AprAutodromo Nazionale Monza | Winner: BOBBY ZALENSKI30
618-AprTalladega Superspeedway70
72-MayLas Vegas Motor Speedway100
816-MayDarlington Raceway120
930-MayCharlotte Motor Speedway100
1013-JunWorld Wide Technology Raceway at Gateway120
1127-JunWatkins Glen International45
1211-JulNashville Superspeedway100
1325-JulNew Hampshire Motor Speedway101
141-AugPocono Raceway60
15 – PO115-AugMichigan International Speedway60
16 – PO229-AugDover Motor Speedway120
17 – PO312-SepPhoenix Raceway120
18 – C426-SepHomestead-Miami Speedway100
Leave a Reply
Previous Post
Nascar heat 5 homestead

Every Track in NASCAR Heat 5

Next Post
WATCH - Assetto Corsa Competitizione v19 and GT World Challenge DLC live event

WATCH: Assetto Corsa Competitizione v1.9 and GT World Challenge DLC live event

Related Posts