eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series Race Preview: Race 3 – Atlanta

Justin Melillo
The third points paying race of the 2023 eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series season will take place at Atlanta Motor Speedway on 14th March.
eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series Race Preview: Race 3 - Atlanta frontstretch

Tonight (14th March), the eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series is scheduled to take on a returning venue, but with a new flair this time around. Following the real-world reconfiguration of Atlanta Motor Speedway in 2022, the top virtual series will finally get its turn with 100 laps at the nearly wide open track.

New Atlanta is one of the new additions to the 2023 schedule after the series visited the historic 2008 venue last season. Not technically known as a Superspeedway due to it’s size, it is still an intermediate, but a common phrase to call it by is “Daytona in a can”.

This is the third race of the 2023 season, and the second superspeedway-style race in just that short amount of time. It is unknown how the race will play out when the Top 40 oval sim racers in the world take to the track. Could it be wide open, or will handling come in to play heavily?


eNASCAR, iRacing, The Milwaukee Mile, Michael Conti leads

In the second race of the season, there were some hurt feelings for some, and that combined with incredible storylines from the front runners on the night. One driver (Darik Bourdeau, Elliott Sadler Esports) is suspended tonight. Another driver checked one thing off of his final season to-do list early.

Nick Ottinger (William Byron Esports) was the best car in the first part, but Malik Ray (Jim Beaver Esports) showed up during a slew of cautions and pounced, taking the lead late in the going. However, Ray would be unsuccessful in holding off Michael Conti (JR Motorsports) as the laps wound down.

As Ray slid back into the clutches of Ottinger and Garrett Manes (FGR Accel eRacing), Conti, in his retirement tour season, went on to become the second winner on the year and the second to be all but locked in when the Regular Season ends following the 14th race, joining Daytona winner Tucker Minter (Team Dillon Esports).


1108Michael ContiJR Motorsports100 LAPS2040
2125Nick OttingerWilliam Byron Esports+0.282 secs6135
32112Garrett ManesFGR Accel eRacing+1.428 secs034
497Malik RayJim Beaver Esports+1.970 secs1833
5848Graham A. BowlinCharlotte Phoenix+1.999 secs032
6695Casey KirwanXSET+2.097 secs031
71318Bobby ZalenskiJoe Gibbs Racing+2.205 secs030
83175Zack NovakRise Esports+2.333 secs029
92740Dylan AultLetarte Esports+2.786 secs028
10741Dylan DuvalStewart-Haas Esports+2.900 secs027


As mentioned, the track is brand new for 2023, despite existing on the eNASCAR Coke Series schedule since the inaugural year in 2010. The very first race that season was won by former series driver Steve Sheehan. John Gorlinsky, another former driver, won the next two seasons back to back.

In 2013, an interesting name appears on the winners list – Joey Brown (FGR Accel eRacing). Brown made his return to the top level this offseason after winning the eNASCAR Contender iRacing Series championship for 2022. Brown previously left the series after 2014.

Thomas Lewandowski, PJ Stergios, Ray Alfalla and Logan Clampitt are all former winners at the old track, and are also no longer in the series this year (Alfalla was relegated and Clampitt retired following the 2022 season). Who is in the series that has won in the past includes Matt Bussa (William Byron Esports) and last year’s winner, Steven Wilson (Stewart-Haas Esports).


eNCCiS: Steven Wilson wins first career race at Atlanta

With the track as a brand new configuration, some who do well at wide open tracks like Daytona and Talladega may find their way to the front of the field this week. Malik Ray has more points than anyone so far this season, and Atlanta may suit his driving style perfectly enough to grab that first career win.

Daytona winners in the last two years, Tucker Minter and Femi Olatunbosun (Charlotte Phoenix) could be contenders when the race comes down to it. How about Wilson, though? He won here last year on the old track and he needs to get his season pointed in the right direction sooner than later.

Other solid picks would likely be the defending champion of the series, Casey Kirwan (XSET), the Front Row Motorsports duo of Allen Boes and rookie Michael Cosey Jr, and how about Jordy Lopez Jr after that last race? He was very impressive in both races so far, look for that No. 3 Team Dillon Esports Chevy to make waves.


18Michael ContiJR Motorsports65WIN111
233Tucker MinterTeam Dillon Esports61WIN111
37Malik RayJim Beaver Esports68+20022
425Nick OttingerWilliam Byron Esports66+18012
595Casey KirwanXSET64+16012
648Graham A. BowlinCharlotte Phoenix61+13012
775Zack NovakRise Esports53+5001
834Allen BoesFront Row Motorsports51+3001
966Tyler GareyKanaan Esports50+2001
1041Dylan DuvalStewart-Haas Esports49+1001
1138Michael Cosey JrFront Row Motorsports48-1011
1218Bobby ZalenskiJoe Gibbs Racing44-5001


The Countdown to Green starts at 8:30 p.m. EDT / 1:30 a.m. GMT to bring you up to speed on everything you need to know going into the event. The racing will go green shortly after 9:00 p.m. EDT / 2:00 a.m. GMT for the Atlanta 100 lap race event.

The broadcast will be available at eNASCAR.com/live or on the iRacing social channels.


CLASH31-JaneNASCAR Clash at the LA Coliseum | Winner: CASEY KIRWAN20/40/70
114-FebDaytona International Speedway | Winner: TUCKER MINTER80
228-FebThe Milwaukee Mile | Winner: MICHAEL CONTI100
314-MarAtlanta Motor Speedway100
428-MarRichmond Raceway130
511-AprAutodromo Nazionale Monza30
618-AprTalladega Superspeedway70
72-MayLas Vegas Motor Speedway100
816-MayDarlington Raceway120
930-MayCharlotte Motor Speedway100
1013-JunWorld Wide Technology Raceway at Gateway120
1127-JunWatkins Glen International45
1211-JulNashville Superspeedway100
1325-JulNew Hampshire Motor Speedway101
141-AugPocono Raceway60
15 – PO115-AugMichigan International Speedway60
16 – PO229-AugDover Motor Speedway120
17 – PO312-SepPhoenix Raceway120
18 – C426-SepHomestead-Miami Speedway100
Leave a Reply
Previous Post

WATCH: NGK SPARK PLUG Esports Cup Grand Finale live on Traxion.GG

Next Post
Rennsport, Nürburgring, ESL R1

ESL R1: Bennett seals convincing Round 3 win for Team Redline

Related Posts