fbpx
Esports

MissionH24’s LMPH2G announced as 24 Hours of Le Mans Virtual Leading and Safety Car

MissionH24's LMPH2G announced as 24 Hours of Le Mans Virtual Leading and Safety Car

This weekend, the Le Mans Virtual Series concludes with the biggest virtual endurance race of the year, the 24 Hours of Le Mans Virtual on 15th/16th January. Leading the procession of race cars to the green flag on Saturday will be the LMPH2G, an electric-hydrogen racing car in development by H24Racing.

The electric-hydrogen MissionH24 project, initiated by the Automobile Club de l’Ouest and GreenGT, hopes to be on the grid for the 2025 24 Hours of Le Mans in a new hydrogen classification. This category does not yet exist, but there are hopes to soon see an electric-hydrogen-powered prototype division in the famed event.

A virtual version of the futuristic car has been built inside the rFactor 2 simulation and will pace the field as necessary throughout the 24 hour event. The same vehicle also paced the 2020 edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans Virtual. Circuit de la Sarthe is quite a long track, so should it be needed, it definitely will get some coverage time at the front of the field.

MissionH24's LMPH2G announced as 24 Hours of Le Mans Virtual Leading and Safety Car

In the real world, the LMPH2G has taken a few demonstration laps around a few closed circuits, including recently at Circuit de la Sarthe alongside its newer counterpart, the H24 in the 2021 edition of the event.

Per the press release, the team says of the futuristic power that “the electric-hydrogen solution employed in mobility is safe, reliable, controlled, and decarbonised and is one of the keys to the ecological transition of the transport industry. It is particularly well adapted to endurance racing which demands both high power levels and substantial autonomy.”

Tune in to the 24 Hours of Le Mans this weekend live on Traxion.GG’s YouTubeFacebook and Twitch channels from 5 am PT / 8 am ET / 1 pm GMT / 2 pm CET on Saturday, 15th January 2022. Check out the full list of drivers competing as well, and keep it pinned here at Traxion.GG for coverage of the event.

Comments
To Top