fbpx
Games

iRacing’s massive 2021 Season 2 update is now live

iRacing Super Late Model 2021 Season 2 Live

Good news iRacing subscribers! The 2021 Season 2 update is now live. Like, right now. Today. Go, play it now. Wait, hang on, read this article first and then go play it.

The latest update to the ever-popular esports platform is massive, adding a whole host of new content, game-engine updates and tweaks. The service went offline in preparation for the release earlier today at 08:00 am EST / 05:00 am PST / 13:00 GMT/ 14:00 CET.

From a racing point of view, Season 2 adds a new, more wince-inducing damage model for five cars: the Dallara iR-01, Formula Renault 2.0, NASCAR Chevrolet Monte Carlo – 1987, NASCAR Ford Thunderbird – 1987 and the Street Stock. There was a dedicated reveal trailer just for this crash update, and it prompted a healthy debate around vehicle licencing and what can or cannot be done with modern simulators.

There’s also a revised version of the Super Late Model stock car, which has all-new bodywork to reflect similar short track cars in real life.

New tracks are also included. From a dirt-racing perspective, there’s Michigan’s Bark River International Raceway, now available for $14.95 – perfect for some pro truck racing. There’s also the timely addition of the Bristol Speedway dirt variant, in time for the real Food City Dirt Race NASCAR event later this month.

But what if you like your circuit racing to be surfaced exclusively with asphalt? No problem, as Hockenheimring Baden-Württemberg (i.e. the current, modern layout, perhaps better known as simply ‘Hockenheim’) is now available also for $14.95. You know, the one with the endlessly frustrating track limits on the exit of turn one and the long-straight-that-isn’t-actually-straight leading to a hairpin. There’s also an additional configuration of Sonoma Raceway that was used by IndyCar between 2012 and 2018.

Speaking of track layouts, a rallycross variant of Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya will also be available for you to bash panels with in the turbocharged four-wheel-drive beasts.

Away from the big-ticket content additions, 14 cars will now feature new tyres, there are new lighting updates for smoke and dust, plus the paint shop has been revised. AI racing is now available for a suite of GT3 cars and on new circuits.

All in all, a thoroughly extensive update with plenty for you to stick your teeth into. Let us know if you are going to try this new update today or if you’ve been a keen bean and already tried it via social media.

Oh yeh, and the full patch notes are below, but you have been warned. It’s massive! Nope, too big, simply visit the iRacing Support post for the full details.

Comments
To Top