Everything you need to know about the 2022 Formula Pro Series

Thomas Harrison-Lord
Leading single-seater racing esports championship, Formula Pro Series, returns for 2022 with new regulations, new tracks and a stellar entry list.
Everything you need to know about the 2022 Formula Pro Series

The second season of the Formula Pro Series esports competition is nearly upon us. With a talent-rich driver lineup and teams from the likes of Mercedes-AMG Petronas, Williams Esports and Red Bull Racing Esports – this is one racing event you will not want to miss.

With that in mind, here’s everything you need to know ahead of the first race, using rFactor 2, Monday 9th April 2022.

The aim

For each team and driver entered, the aim is clear – to win. But, more than that, there is a $50,000 prize pool, and that’s a significant incentive to perform.

The teams near the bottom of the league table come the end of the season will also be placed into a post-season relegation race, where their status on the Formula Pro grid could be under threat. So even if after a few rounds the overall title may not be achievable, teams will still be striving for strong results.

The car

Using the fictional V10-powered single-seater within the rFactor 2 simulator, it has 800bhp and up to 2400kg of downforce. It takes the open-wheel format to extremes, and pairs that with a sweet naturally-aspirated sound. Every car on the grid is identical.

Formula Pro Series 2022 rFactor 2 Spa

The race format

Each round consists of one race that lasts 60-minutes. Simple as that. Qualifying is also straightforward, with one 15-minute session.

The tracks

The 2022 Formula Pro Series will visit some of the most venerated venues in Motorsport – Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Autodromo Nazionale Monza, Daytona International Speedway Road Course, Donington Park, Côte d’Azur and Weathertech Raceway Laguna Seca.

The sporting regulations

Each car is identical in every way, although success ballast will be used after the opening round based upon championship standings. This will be attributed in the following way:

  • First – 10kg
  • Second – 7kg
  • Third – 4kg
Formula Pro Series 2022 rFactor 2 Monza BS+Competition

A push-to-pass system will provide an extra 55bhp momentarily, but can also be used in defence. This is limited to 60 seconds per driver per race and can be used at each driver’s discretion. There is no drag reduction system (DRS) this year.

Who won last season?

Bono Huis won every race of the inaugural Formula Pro Series in 2021. A dominant display, taking Mercedes-AMG Petronas Esports to the title with consummate ease.

However, Team Redline was always on the Mercedes tale, putting up a valiant fight and also scoring pole positions.

Bono Huis qualifying Monza, Round 6, Formula Pro Series
Mercedes-AMG Petronas won the 2021 Formula Pro Series

How to watch the Formula Pro Series

Every race of the 2022 Formula Pro Series will be live online across Traxion.GG, Autosport and Motorsport.com

For Traxion.GG, that means live coverage on our Facebook Page, Twitch and YouTube Channels. It will also be live on Autosport and Motorsport.com’s Facebook pages.

Each race will also be followed by detailed race reports on the Traxion.GG, Autosport.com and Motorsport.com websites.

How to watch the Formula Pro Series esports championship

Each broadcast starts at 7 pm BST / 8 pm CEST / 11 am PT / 2 pm ET. The presenters for each round will be esteemed sports broadcaster Rachael Downie, GB3 and GB4 commentator Lewis McGlade and Traxion.GG’s very own John Munro.

What is Formula Challenge Series?

Formula Challenge Series is a racing esports championship that sits one step below Formula Pro Series. The cars are the same, but with 600bhp as opposed to 800bhp and drivers qualified via rFactor 2’s native hot lap qualifying system.

Formula Challenge Series 2022

Formula Challenge Series take place on the week in between each Formula Pro Series race. At the end of the season, there’s the opportunity to be promoted into Formula Pro Series for 2023.

Formula Pro Series 2022 calendar

  • Round 1 – Spa-Francorchamps – 9th May 2022
  • Round 2 – Monza – 23rd May 2022
  • Round 3 – Daytona Road Course – 6th June 2022
  • Round 4 – Donington Park – 4th July 2022
  • Round 5 – Circuit d’Azur – 18th July 2022
  • Round 6 – Laguna Seca – 1st August 2022

The entry list

There are 12 teams, 24 drivers, entered for every race in the 2022 Formula Pro Series. For more information on each driver’s background, read our entry list announcement.

  • #1 Bono Huis – Mercedes-AMG Petronas Esports Team
  • #6 Adam Maguire – Wolves GR Esports
  • #8 Erhan Jajovski – R8G Esports
  • #10 Michi Hoyer – Burst Esport
  • #11 Nuno Pinto – Team Fordzilla
  • #12 Ibraheem Khan – BS+Competition
  • #13 Alex Siebel – Oracle Red Bull Racing Esports
  • #17 Jernej Simončič – Burst Esport
  • #19 Jeffrey Rietveld – Team Redline
  • #20 Kevin Siggy – Team Redline
  • #21 Collin Spork – NetRex Grand Prix
  • #22 Ferris Stanley – Rocket Simsport
  • #23 Daniel Kiss – Rocket Simsport
  • # 27 Dennis Jordan – Oracle Red Bull Racing Esports
  • #34 Jarno Opmeer – Mercedes-AMG Petronas Esports Team
  • #44 Noah Reuvers – NetRex Grand Prix
  • #46 Gianmarco Fiduci – Team Fordzilla
  • #60 Dawid Mroczek – Bykolles Burst Esport
  • #66 Liam de Waal – Wolves GR Esports
  • #88 Marcell Csincsik – R8G Esports
  • #93 Damian Skowron – Bykolles Burst Esport
  • #96 Muhammed Patel – BS+Competition
  • #97 Petar Brljak – Williams Esports
  • #98 Martin Stefanko – Williams Esports
Leave a Reply
Previous Post
Retrospective: Dirt to Daytona paved the way for future NASCAR console games

How Dirt to Daytona paved the way for future NASCAR console games

Next Post
Your guide to Gran Turismo 7’s Daily Races, w/c 9th May: If it ain't broke...

Your guide to Gran Turismo 7’s Daily Races, w/c 9th May: If it ain’t broke…

Related Posts