Verstappen, Grosjean and Visser enter Le Mans Virtual Series Sebring round

Justin Melillo
Max Verstappen will once again return to action in the 500 Miles of Sebring, the fourth race of the 2022-23 Le Mans Virtual Series season, alongside Romain Grosjean and Beitske Visser.
Verstappen, Grosjean and Visser enter Le Mans Virtual Series Sebring round

Sebring International Raceway, with all of its bumps, is set to host the fourth round of the 2022-23 Le Mans Virtual Series season this weekend (3rd December).

The 500 Miles of Sebring is the last race on Le Mans Virtual Series calendar before the 24 Hours of Le Mans Virtual marquee race itself, but once again, many real-world racing stars have come out to play in this penultimate race featuring a mixture of concrete and asphalt racing surfaces.

40 teams of three drivers each will take to the 3.741-mile (6.019-kilometer) venue in the middle of Florida for the first and only race of the season that isn’t timed. It equates to just about 134 laps with lap times expected near the 1:45.00 second bracket. Last year’s event took over just four hours to complete.

James Baldwin, Mercedes-AMG Petronas LMP, Le Mans Virtual, Sebring

There are a ton of real-world racing stars entered in this week’s event, many of which are there to meet their Pro level driver eligibility before the 24 Hours of Le Mans Virtual. Some drivers, however, have already met that requirement, and have their Pro level drivers entered in hopes of winning at Sebring.

A dominant force regardless, Team Redline will once again have the expertise of two-time Formula 1 world champion Max Verstappen behind the wheel for the event, sharing the #1 LMP with two of the best sim racers in the business, Jeffrey Rietveld and Maximilian Benecke, just like at Spa last month.

They’ll go toe-to-toe with another F1 presence, current IndyCar star Romain Grosjean, who will pilot the #18 R8G Esports entry alongside a former European Le Mans Series champion in Mathias Beche as well a sim racing expert in Ulas Ozyildirim.

Le Mans Virtual Series, 500 Miles of Sebring

Team Redline’s #1 entry enters Sebring as the points leader over the #4 Floyd Vanwall-Burst LMP2 team. They’ll have Jernej Simončič and Jesper Pedersen as usual, but they’ll also have Damian Skowron in the seat this week as they look to close the 14-point deficit.

In all, the LMP field for Sebring is beyond stacked with real-world racing talent this time around. Sami-Matti Trogen joins the Williams Esports #5, Porsche Coanda’s two rides will have the likes of Ayhancan Güven in the #20 and Laurin Heinrich in the #23.

James Baldwin returns to drive in the most recent winning car in the series at Spa, the #63 AMG Team Petronas Esports LMP.

500 Miles of Sebring, GTE Battle, Le Mans Virtual Series

In the GTE class, Beitske Visser joins up with the #10 MAHLE Racing Team BMW team to take on Sebring. The Dutchwoman will join up with Muhammed Patel and Michele D’Alessandro as they look to improve upon the top-five finish earned by the team at Spa in early November.

The GTE points leaders in the BMW Team Redline entry will also have their Pro in the seat at Sebring, a sim-to-reality sensation in Rudy van Buren. The #71 BMW team will also have their mainstays in Kevin Siggy and Enzo Bonito alongside for the 500-mile ride as they attempt to grow their points lead.

Other GTE Pro level drivers include Marc Gassner in the #11 Project 1 by Dörr Esports Porsche, Dennis Lind in the #99 Oracle Red Bull Racing Porsche, Lasse Sørensen once again with the #95 Prodrive FYRA Esport Aston Martin as well as the return of Alexander Smolyar in the #888 R8G Esports Ferrari.

The 500 Miles of Sebring will be live on the Traxion.GG YouTube channel this weekend on Friday and Saturday.

Qualifying is at 6:00 pm GMT / 7:00 pm CET on Friday (2nd December) following the Le Mans Virtual Cup finale. The race itself is on Saturday (3rd December) from 12:30 pm GMT / 1:30 pm CET. 

Le Mans Virtual Series 500 Miles of Sebring LMP entry list

1Team RedlineOreca 07 LMP2Max Verstappen (PRO)Jeffrey RietveldMaximilian Benecke
2Team RedlineOreca 07 LMP2Luke Browning (PRO)Luke Bennett*Diogo Pinto
4Floyd Vanwall-BurstOreca 07 LMP2Damian Skowron*Jernej SimončičJesper N. Pedersen
5Williams EsportsOreca 07 LMP2Sami-Matti Trogen (PRO)Jack KeithleyPetar Brljak
8R8G ESPORTSOreca 07 LMP2Arthur Rougier (PRO)Erhan JajovskiMarcell Csincsik
16Pescarolo Esport MonacoOreca 07 LMP2Darius AndreiRobert PaunMartin Murguly
18R8G ESPORTSOreca 07 LMP2Romain Grosjean (PRO)Mathias Beche (PRO)Ulas Ozyildirim
20Porsche CoandaOreca 07 LMP2Ayhancan Güven (PRO)Tommy ØstgaardMitchell deJong
21SEM9.AxleOreca 07 LMP2Michael Benyahia (PRO)Naquib AzlanMuhammad Aleef*
22Rocket SimsportOreca 07 LMP2Angus Fender (PRO)Mika HakimiBorja Millan
23Porsche CoandaOreca 07 LMP2Laurin Heinrich (PRO)Joshua RogersMack Bakkum
28YAS HEAT VELOCEOreca 07 LMP2Sandy Mitchell (PRO)Balazs Remenyik*Isaac Gillissen
29Mexico Racing TeamOreca 07 LMP2Alberto GironellaAdolfo PérezManuel de Samaniego
36Alpine EsportsOreca 07 LMP2Sacha Lehmann (PRO)Rory MacDuffCollin Spork
44ARC BratislavaOreca 07 LMP2Tomas Enge (PRO)Erik ViziAndrej Marecak
53AMG Team Williams EsportsOreca 07 LMP2Raffaele Marciello (PRO)Nikodem WisniewskiJakub Brzezinski
62Brabham EsportsOreca 07 LMP2William Dendy (PRO)Jan von der HeydeArne Schoonvliet
63AMG Team Petronas EsportsOreca 07 LMP2James Baldwin (PRO)Bono HuisGraham Carroll
65Panis Racing TeamOreca 07 LMP2Job van Uitert (PRO)Florian LebigreQuentin Vialatte
86GR Vector eSportOreca 07 LMP2Pierre Courroye (PRO)Jannick BockDaniel Brewer
100Arnage CompetitionOreca 07 LMP2Janos BracsokAdam PinczesDennis Zetak*
101GR Vector eSportOreca 07 LMP2Alexandru Cascatau (PRO)Adam MaguireMattia Crupi
444Nextview Vanwall-BurstOreca 07 LMP2Josh Skelton (PRO)*Michi HoyerDawid Mroczek
966Team FordzillaOreca 07 LMP2Nuno PintoGianmarco FiduciAlessandro Ottaviani

Le Mans Virtual Series 500 Miles of Sebring GTE entry list

10MAHLE Racing TeamBMW M8 GTEBeitske Visser (PRO)Muhammed PatelMichele D’Alessandro
11Project 1 by Dörr EsportsPorsche 911 RSR GTEMarc Gassner (PRO)Moritz LöhnerLeonard Krippner
25Inspeed RacingPorsche 911 RSR GTEWenlong Lu (PRO)Xiayufei LiYanzhe Li
26SIM MaranelloFerrari 488 GTELorenzo ArisiChristian MalgheraAndrea Terzi
51SF Velas Esports TeamFerrari 488 GTEJordy ZwiersKasper StoltzeChristian Michel
64Satellite RacingAston Martin Vantage GTEHenri SinikJimi NisulaJames Dziuba*
66SIMMSA EsportsFerrari 488 GTEGustas Grinbergas (PRO)Sebastian WunschPatrick Schindler
71BMW Team RedlineBMW M8 GTERudy van Buren (PRO)Kevin SiggyEnzo Bonito
77Proton Coanda EsportsPorsche 911 RSR GTELoek Hartog (PRO)Charlie CollinsPaschalis Gkergkis
88Proton Coanda EsportsPorsche 911 RSR GTEJoni TakanenKevin van DoorenOskar Biksrud
89BMW Team BS+COMPETITIONBMW M8 GTEAlen TerzicIbraheem KhanFerris Stanley
95Prodrive FYRA EsportAston Martin Vantage GTELasse Sørensen (PRO)Andreas Jochimsen (PRO)Lasse Bak
99Oracle Red Bull RacingPorsche 911 RSR GTEDennis Lind (PRO)Yuri KasdorpDennis Jordan
111P1 EsportPorsche 911 RSR GTEMarcus JensenTurkka HäkkinenRasmus Busk
777D’station RacingAston Martin Vantage GTECharlie Fagg (PRO)Marc VeitToshiya Nojima
888R8G ESPORTSFerrari 488 GTEAlexander Smolyar (PRO)Martin Hemmingsen*Risto Kappet

Full disclosure – Traxion.GG is part of Motorsport Games and the Motorsport Games family of brands. All Traxion.GG content is editorially removed from Motorsport Games video game development and created by a dedicated team. Traxion.GG is one of the official media partners of the Le Mans Virtual Series.

Leave a Reply
Previous Post
New cars, physics and engine swaps added in CarX Drift Racing Online update 

New cars, physics and engine swaps added in CarX Drift Racing Online update 

Next Post
Assetto Corsa Competizione: take on Shroud and win Logitech prizes 

Assetto Corsa Competizione: take on Shroud and win Logitech prizes 

Related Posts