iRacing WoO Late Models: Kendal Tucker victorious at I-55

Justin Melillo
In the sixth race of the 2023 iRacing World of Outlaws Late Model championship, Kendal Tucker scored the victory, his first of the season, over Evan Seay at I-55.

A fourth new winner in the current iRacing World of Outlaws Buttkicker Late Model Series season was added in the name of Kendal Tucker on Monday night at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55, the sixth race of the 2023 calendar.

From an eighth place qualifying effort to a win in Heat 4, Tucker persevered through the first two-thirds of the Feature race to position himself in a prime spot on a restart following a caution. Points leader and defending Series Champion Evan Seay was hot on his tail, but Tucker held on for his first win since 2020.

Seay opens up his points lead to 69 now over Tucker, who moves to second around Logan Rumsey. Blake Matjoulis continues through I-55 in fourth, just ahead of Dylan Wilson in fifth. Four races remain in the 2023 season, and Seay has a firm grasp on a second straight heading into Williams Grove next week.

Heat Races

Each venue this season has had drastically different Heat races, with some races seeing little to no passing, other races seeing complete turmoil from second on back, and other races being their own mixed bag.

Monday’s Heat races all saw the Top 4 qualifying drivers fail to win their respective heats, all to be won by the drivers who qualified from fifth to eighth.

Heat 1 saw Kaden Honeycutt defeat Damian Kiefer, while Chase Barbara got the best of Evan Seay in the second. Heat 3 was an outlier only because Robbie Buchanan Jr fell out, but it was still won by the second place starter Dezmond Busby. In the final Heat, Kendal Tucker took it from Chase Hardy.

Feature advancements via I-55 Heats

1Kaden HoneycuttChase BarbaraDezmond BusbyKendal Tucker
2Damian KieferEvan SeayDylonn FoxChase Hardy
3Dylan YeagerLogan RumseyJames EdensDylan Wilson
4Drew HopkinsLandon FrancisMike AugustineColton Zimmer


For the second straight week, former champion Blake Matjoulis found himself racing in the LCQ for a last chance at making the Feature. Finishing fifth in Heat 1 put him on the pole position, but he had the likes of JD Brown, Barrett Bishop and Tanner Tomasi breathing down his neck. Matjoulis held on and brought Brown with to the main.

The final Last Chance race saw Jesse Wall take the lead and dominate, but the battle for second behind was an absolute cluster at times. Nathan Waddell emerged from the chaos to take the final spot in the Feature race.

1Blake MatjoulisJesse Wall
2JD BrownNathan R Waddell


By virtue of winning the first Heat, Kaden Honeycutt led the field to the green flag, leading the opening 22 laps before Chase Barbara came to the party and took control.

Barbara looked to have a good grasp on the field, but a caution at the 32nd lap closed the field back together. Kendal Tucker was waiting to strike and did just that on the ensuing restart.

As the laps ticked away, both Barbara and Honeycutt would fall down the order as Evan Seay came up to challenge for the win. With two laps to go, Seay took a look inside and seemingly completed the pass for the lead.

However, a caution that flew just before the pass was completed placed Tucker back ahead with just one more restart and one more lap to finish it. Tucker got the jump as Seay was unable to get back alongside.

WoO LM Race #6 -I-55 Feature Top 10 Results

1400Kendal Tucker50 LAPS1778
2633Evan Seay+0.213 secs074
3521Damian Kiefer+0.601 secs071
4223Chase Barbara+0.747 secs969
5899Chase Hardy+0.945 secs065
6382Dezmond Busby+1.169 secs063
71280Dylan Wilson+1.356 secs058
81041Logan Rumsey+1.681 secs055
9110Kaden Honeycutt+2.204 secs2254
10948Dylan Yeager+2.455 secs049

Points Standings following Race #6 – I-55

133Evan Seay450LEADER2
200Kendal Tucker381-691
341Logan Rumsey373-771
4127Blake Matjoulis343-1072
580Dylan Wilson340-1100
623Chase Barbara317-1330
752James Edens311-1390
814JD Brown258-1920
982Desmond Busby253-1970
103Barrett Bishop241-2090

Next up: Williams Grove

The seventh race of the 2023 season will take the Late Model World of Outlaws tour to Williams Grove Speedway, a race that was won by Evan Seay last season.

Seay has been a model of front running consistency, and going back to another track he was victorious at could put the final nail in the coffin on the 2023 Points battle.

Things will kick off at 9:00 pm ET with the call from Tim Terry and Terry Radford, broadcasted live on DIRTvision or on the iRacing social channels.

2023 Schedule

110th JulyVolusia Speedway Park
217th JulyFairbury Speedway
324th JulyCedar Lake Speedway
431st JulyPort Royal Speedway
57th AugustKnoxville Raceway
614th AugustFederated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55
721st AugustWilliams Grove Speedway
828th AugustEldora Speedway
911th SeptemberLincoln Speedway
1018th SeptemberThe Dirt Track at Charlotte Motor Speedway
Previous Post
Thrustmaster TH8S Shifter Add-On review

Granny-shift your way to sim racing glory: Thrustmaster TH8S Shifter Add-On review 

Next Post

Local Multiplayer added into NASCAR Rivals, supports up to 8 players

Related Posts