BMW M Team BS+Competition announces ESL R1 lineup, DTM champ manager

BMW M Team BS+Competition, ESL R1 2023

The BMW M-backed squad in ESL R1 will utilise the services of Bruno Spengler to oversee its five-strong driver line-up.

Another ESL R1 driver lineup has been announced, this time German squad BS+Competition. This marks the second of the car manufacturer-backed teams to formally announce its entry so far, BMW M, and it will have a former DTM champion as team manager.

BMW M Team BS+Competition will be led by Bruno Spengler in an executive role. He won the Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters in 2012 and is currently a BMW-contracted real-world driver. He’s a keen sim racing competitor too, however, having formerly entered the VCO ProSIM SERIES and finishing on the GTE podium at the 2023 24 Hours of Le Mans Virtual.

BMW M Team BS+Competition announces ESL R1 lineup, DTM champ manager

In terms of driving, 2022 BMW Sim Time Attack winner and 2021 British GT Esports GT4 champion Nils Naujoks will take part, the Assetto Corsa Competizione expert first tested the Rennsport platform in Munich last year and will now compete on it throughout the year.

He will be joined by Ryan Barneveld, Phillippe Denes and Rainer Talvar who all finished on the IMSA GTD iRacing Daytona 24 VCO Top Split podium together just days ago. Unsurprisingly, they were driving a BMW.

BMW M Team BS+Competition, ESL R1 lineup, Rennsport

In ESL R1, each team will enter four drivers, but BS+Competition has also announced a fifth, in the form of Ibraheem Khan, as a support driver. The racing gets underway in Poland at the IEM Expo Katowice, 11th-12th February 2023.

“ESL R1 is an exciting new stage, forming a very tight link between Esports and sim racing,” said Florian Haasper, CEO of BS+Competition.

“Alongside all the competitions inspired by real events and championships, we also really like to see new formats in sim racing. These contribute to raising awareness of our sport outside the existing fan community.”


  • Nils Naujoks
  • Ryan Barneveld
  • Phillippe Denes
  • Rainer Talvar
  • Team Captain: Bruno Spengler
  • Support Driver: Ibraheem Khan

Images: BMW Motorsport

To Top