fbpx
Forza Motorsport

Analyst predicts Forza Motorsport announcement this month

Analyst predicts Forza Motorsport announcement this month

With the eighth Forza Motorsport ghosting the racing game community for two years, Nielsen Games’ Director, Ryan Snyder, has prediction news a the Xbox and Bethesda showcase later this month.

781 days. That’s how long it has been since the Forza Motorsport re-boot was revealed during Microsoft’s Xbox Games Showcase in July 2020. Since then, while we’ve heard about new tyre models and suspension systems, no in-game footage has been revealed.

We’re just sitting here, watching some Apollo unobtanium drive down Laguna Seca’s Corkscrew repeatedly.

However, with Forza Horizon 5 now long since on the market – barring pending expansions – Nielsen Games’ Director, Ryan Snyder, has gone on record to predict more information will be revealed soon.

With the video game conference E3 cancelled this year, game publishers are still putting on shows of sorts, but via their own communication channels.

The ‘Xbox & Bethesda Game Showcase‘ will be on Sunday 12th June at 10 am PT/1 pm ET/7 pm CET/6 pm BST.

“Forza 8 will get a release date,” predictions Snyder, speaking to GamesIndustry.Biz for a non-E3 predictions article.

“In trying to capitalise on the success of Forza Horizon 5, Microsoft is going to want to keep the momentum going by keeping Forza in the public eye and continuing to engage the much sought-after under 18 demographic.”

Forza Motorsport 2022 Xbox and Bethesda showcase

Nielsen Games is a video game industry tracking and market research business that provides insight into current sales and player trends.

“Racing games are the second most popular genre for gamers under 18 on console. Shooters remain the most popular, with 52% of those under 18 saying they play games in the genre, but at 49% racing games are not far behind,” highlighted Snyder, showcasing the importance of the racing genre in general for the industry.

I for one would love an update for the next Forza Motorsport, not only for a new game to help push racing games forward, but I’m also running out of initial reveal footage to screencap for articles…

What are your Xbox predictions for this month? Do you expect the first Forza Horizon 5 expansion details and a Forza Motorsport update, or perhaps there will be nothing for driving fans? Let us know in the comments below.

Comments
To Top